Lakeview Cannobio Camping Logo 2

Valle Maggia & side valleys

Hike, swim, visit, enjoy

A trip for the whole family

Valle Maggia / Maggia Valley & Side Valleys (Ticino, CH)

The Maggia Valley – Valle Maggia – is crossed by the Maggia River and extends from Locarno further north. In the upper part there are numerous side valleys that are only partially inhabited. At the entrance to the valley, directly adjacent to Locarno, the Maggia is wide and shallow and invites you to swim in summer. On sunny days, bath towels often line up here. It’s worth getting there early – or driving further into the valley.

The further one advances into the Maggia Valley, the steeper the rocks that line the Maggia Trail become. The road goes up to Fusio, where it is not possible to continue. Fusio is the starting point for various hikes.

From the Valle Maggia, for example, you can reach the Centovalli, a densely wooded landscape with rugged cliffs that invite you to hike and linger. With the Centovalli Railway you can travel from Locarno to Domodossola and enjoy the wonderful scenery of the varied valley.

Another side valley of the Valle Maggia is the Valle Onsernone. The approach is via a good passable road shortly after entering Valle Maggia over a bridge. In the Valle Onsernone you will find beautiful hiking routes of various difficulty levels, great grottos and numerous hidden treasures.

997699b427492629dff0a78cf4dacd3dcea823355f75b88f680d7cf5f502ecac46d173545d05387164ea30e0db325af6e26f7b10f18b1b459f483c 1280

The Valle Onsernone is especially known for its villages on the southern slope, which, due to their particular position, have up to seven hours of sunshine even in winter. Here, too, one can find numerous well-preserved, typical Ticino stone houses. From Valle Onsernone you can also reach Val Vergeletto, another side valley of Valle Maggia. From Val Vergeletto a cableway leads from Zòtt to Salèi. Numerous hiking trails attract visitors here.

In Bignasco in the Maggia Valley you will find Punto Verde, a small rustico that sells a unique Valle Maggia pepper in addition to numerous wines, herbal blends and jams. Highly recommended!

Lakeview Cannobio Camping Logo 2

Valle Maggia & Seitentäler

Wandern, baden, besichtigen, genießen

Ein Ausflug für die ganze Familie

Valle Maggia / Maggiatal & Seitentäler (Tessin, CH)

Das Maggiatal – Valle Maggia – wird vom Fluss Maggia durchflossen und erstreckt sich von Locarno weiter nach Norden. Im oberen Teil gibt es zahlreiche Seitentäler, die nur teilweise bewohnt sind. Am Taleingang, direkt angrenzend an Locarno, ist die Maggia breit und flach und lädt im Sommer zum Baden ein. An sonnigen Tagen reihen sich hier oft Badetücher aneinander. Es lohnt sich, früh da zu sein – oder weiter ins Tal zu fahren.

Je weiter man ins Maggiatal vordringt, desto steiler werden die Felsen, die den Maggiaweg säumen. Die Straße führt hinauf nach Fusio, wo es nicht möglich ist, weiterzufahren. Fusio ist Ausgangspunkt für verschiedene Wanderungen.

Vom Valle Maggia aus erreicht man beispielsweise das Centovalli, eine dicht bewaldete Landschaft, aus der schroffe Felsen emporragen, die zum Wandern und Verweilen einladen. Mit der Centovalli-Bahn können Sie von Locarno nach Domodossola fahren und die wunderbare Landschaft des abwechslungsreichen Tals geniessen.

Ein weiteres Seitental des Valle Maggia ist das Valle Onsernone. Die Anfahrt erfolgt über eine gut befahrbare Straße kurz nach dem Eintritt ins Valle Maggia über eine Brücke. Im Valle Onsernone finden Sie wunderschöne Wanderrouten verschiedener Schwierigkeitsgrade, tolle Grottos und zahlreiche verborgene Schätze. 

997699b427492629dff0a78cf4dacd3dcea823355f75b88f680d7cf5f502ecac46d173545d05387164ea30e0db325af6e26f7b10f18b1b459f483c 1280

Das Valle Onsernone ist vor allem für seine Dörfer am Südhang bekannt, die aufgrund ihrer besonderen Lage auch im Winter bis zu sieben Sonnenstunden haben. Auch hier findet man zahlreiche gut erhaltene, typische Tessiner Steinhäuser. Vom Valle Onsernone erreicht man auch das Val Vergeletto, ein weiteres Seitental des Valle Maggia. Vom Val Vergeletto führt eine Seilbahn von Zòtt nach Salèi. Zahlreiche Wanderwege locken Besucher hierher.

In Bignasco im Maggiatal finden Sie das Punto Verde, ein kleines Rustico, das neben zahlreichen Weinen, Kräutermischungen und Marmeladen einen einzigartigen Valle Maggia Pfeffer verkauft. Sehr empfehlenswert!